Day 25

A party tonight. So I wasn’t here to blog. My first failure. I didn’t want to miss a day, so even though it’s after midnight, here are my thoughts for Day 25 in brief.

Genesis 50 and the end of the first Bible book. I have a sense of sadness that the story ends with Joseph’s death. But the story of the Israelites  will continue…

Exodus begins with the birth of Moses. You know that familiar story of the baby in the bulrushes. What struck me was something I knew already, but it’s worth repeating: Moses was adopted my the princess. Was this the first recorded adoption? I have personal experience of the adoption process and what it means to take on someone else’s children as your own. It’s a huge commitment and one which the princess would not have done lightly.

Matthew 16 concludes with these words: (16:26) “What do you benefit if you gain the whole world but lose your own soul? Is anything worth more than your soul?” And Matthew 17 begins with the vision on the mountaintop. As Jesus is praying, there is a bright light and Moses and Elijah appear alongside him.

Psalm 21 is a celebration of the goodness of God. (21:13) “Rise up, O Lord, in all your power. With music and singing we celebrate your mighty acts.”

Proverbs 5 gives me a lovely verse to finish with, (5:2) “[Pay attention] … and your lips will express what you’ve learned.”

Which is what I’m doing here. I’m reading, thinking, learning and sharing. Even if it’s only a handful of words!

Now I’ll have to wait for later today to blog about Day 24! Are you confused yet?

Leave a Reply

