Day 108 (30% of the way through the Bible)

“When Jesus came by, he looked up at Zacchaeus and called him by name. “Zacchaeus!” he said. “Quick, come down! I must be a guest in your home today.”” (Luke 19:5 NLT)

I had a tough day today with my daughter who is aged 7 but has the strength of someone twice her age! I was hoping that I could get some comfort from today’s reading and that God would let me know: 1) What I could have done differently, 2) That everything will be OK in the morning.

Well, try as I might, I could find no words of comfort here.

Instead, this verse highlighted itself. Why? Was has this got to do with my situation! Why are there no words of comfort for me?

Me me me me…

That’s the point isn’t it? It’s not about me. It’s not even about my daughter. It’s about what God is saying. So, alright then, lets look at this verse.

I didn’t want to use this one. It’s got speech marks in it and so it doesn’t copy and paste very well.

But never mind that. What is it saying!

Jesus spots someone whom the crowd hated. He was a tax collector. Jesus saw him and immediately asked to go to his house for tea. The crowd didn’t like that. Jesus wasn’t behaving as they expected. He rarely did!

It’s a good job that Zacchaeus had plants of food in because I’m guessing that when Jesus calls round, he brings everyone with him. And that, I think, is the point of this verse. Jesus was showing the crowd that for all his faults, Zacchaeus was not a bad man. Indeed, by the end of the reading he has repaid the money he had stolen and been forgiven for his sins. He had been made an example of.

When Jesus calls round for tea, the food is not important. The example you are about to set is important.

Leave a Reply

