Day 112

““But before all this occurs, there will be a time of great persecution. You will be dragged into synagogues and prisons, and you will stand trial before kings and governors because you are my followers.” (Luke 21:12 NLT)

Jesus is talking about the End of Days. When judgement comes.

In the news today, a government official is claiming that Christians are afraid to speak out. Ashamed of proclaiming their faith.

Now, personally, I don’t believe that to be the case and I think there is something else going on. But I blogged about politics last night so I don’t want to go into that again.

But I am thinking about persecuted Christians. Those who do feel as if they have been made to feel as if they are standing trial.

I have been involved in several exchanges on Twitter today with people who are vehemently opposed to Christianity, or “the church”. I see it as my moral duty to stand up to these negative comments and put them right on a few points.

Not one person has ever changed their views. But, by the same token, neither have I!

Who is right? Who is wrong?

That depends on the point of view of the reader, I suppose. But where there is clearly an inaccurate statistic, for example, I can correct them. They will probably just ignore my reply, but I have done my bit.

TV historian and writer Dan Snow claimed that there are more people who support Manchester United football team than there are Christians.

Wrong! According to figures published by Manchester United (which have been disputed) there are over 800 million supporters worldwide, which equates to one in ten. Ten percent.

According to the latest UK census, just about half the population of this country describe themselves as Christian. That’s fifty percent.

I replied to Dan Snow’s Tweet by saying this: “10% or 50% which is higher? you do the maths.” Which could be read as argumentative. And in a way it is.

But I did get my point across in a direct manner. I stood up for my fellow Christians by telling someone who should (and most probably does) know better that he was wrong.

Whether your accuser is a king, governor or just a TV presenter, don’t be afraid to tell them they are wrong!

Leave a Reply

