Day 121

“So he said: “Out of the one who eats came something to eat; out of the strong came something sweet.” Three days later they were still trying to figure it out.” (Judges 14:14 NLT)

So here’s something I never knew. I thought I knew all about the story of Samson. I’ve seen the Bible TV series. I even remember watching the old black and white film of Samson and Delilah. But this incident was a real surprise.

Samson is attacked by a lion. He kills the lion by ripping it’s jaws apart. When he returns to the carcass later he finds a swarm of bees has made a nest inside it. Samson eats some of the honey.

Later he gives his prospective bride’s family this riddle. Which they fail to solve.

But a surprise for me to learn that these two stories, which I thought I knew about, were in fact linked!

Learning every day!

Leave a Reply

