Day 195

“You may think you can condemn such people, but you are just as bad, and you have no excuse! When you say they are wicked and should be punished, you are condemning yourself, for you who judge others do these very same things.” (‭Romans‬ ‭2‬:‭1‬ NLT)

Only God truly knows what is in our hearts and minds. Only God, therefore, is in a position to dispense judgement on those who may or may not be guilty.

This week someone close to me offended me. I passionately believe that children should be taught about a wide range of topics. If such teaching is of a good quality and unbiased in its presentation, then the children will grow up into tolerant and understanding individuals.

Society as a whole would be a better one because the young men and women, as they enter the workplaces and cities of our countries, would have a wide range of experiences and knowledge.

But I was told that I could not talk to a class of children about the Bible. There are concerns that by doing so, there could be allegations that I am attempting to radicalise them. Three members of staff would have been present. The information that I could have told them would be based on the questions that the children themselves had come up with.

I am not condemning those who told me I could not talk to the children. That’s not my place. See above. But I feel morally compromised.

I think that my professionalism and integrity has been called into question.

Am I overreacting? Should I just let it go?

What would you do?

3 thoughts on “Day 195

  1. I enjoy your thoughts alongside the Bible quotes. I like the contexts.
    When I did my degree I did a module on multi faith studies. We visited several religious communities and I thoroughly enjoyed meeting people who expressed their spirituality in beautiful and welcoming ways. It seems a shame to be closed to hearing the joy of someone’s individual experience around their faith which I’m sure is what you could and would have expressed given the opportunity. Maybe you could suggest bringing other faith representatives in to speak with you too? Therefore no accusation of being ‘radical’

    (When I was a child my question to the Sunday School teacher, bought about by ‘All Things Bright And Beautiful’, was “if God made everyone who made God?” I not sure of the answer but I am vegetarian which I guess is some form if interpretation!)

    • Thank you, and bless you! As the year has gone on, I have been running out of steam a bit. I started just putting the verse on which had jumped out at me, but the theme was “protection”. But after what happened this week, I felt compelled to express my thoughts more fully.
      On reelection, I have decided to follow my conscience and tell the school management officially that I think they are wrong.
      I will be polite and understanding. I would hope that they show me the same curtsey.
      The school allows five faith speakers per year. But having used up three already, what chance for Sikh, Judaism and Christianity?

Leave a Reply

