Day 223

“Haughty eyes, a proud heart, and evil actions are all sin.” (‭Proverbs‬ ‭21‬:‭4‬ NLT)

Let me tell you a story. I was driving through a car park today, looking for a space. And I found one! So I stopped the car, put it into reverse and began to manoeuvre into the space.

But then another car drove up behind me and stopped me moving further. I turned round to look at the driver and let him know by pointing that I was going to park in that space. He, grudgingly, reversed and I parked.

As he passed, he glanced at me with a “look”. He was clearly angry at me having delayed him by a handful of seconds.

In Yorkshire, we would say of someone who was giving a disapproving look, “Look at that face!” Or it might be shortened to “Look at t’ fayce” or “He had a reet fayce on ‘im!”

It is good to know that the Psalmist agrees with this fine saying and giving someone a reet face is a sin!

I hope the driver who was inconvenienced arrived safely and happily at his destination. Even if he was a sinner.

Leave a Reply

