Day 233

“He said, “I came naked from my mother’s womb, and I will be naked when I leave. The LORD gave me what I had, and the LORD has taken it away. Praise the name of the LORD!”” (‭Job‬ ‭1‬:‭21‬ NLT)

It’s always good to remember that everything we have is only on loan. Even our bodies are temporary. So many (too many!) people forget that and spend their lives in search of more. More money, more power, more more more…

But what good does it do when our time comes?

I haven’t been inspired by the Old Testament for a while. Almost everything I have read is all new to me. But it have found it tough going. Esther, which I have just completed, was really interesting. It had a proper story and a point! And so we come to Job, which I have actually read before.

This verse jumped out at me because it reminded me of the line in Monty Python’s Life of Brian.

“You’re born with nothing. You go with nothing. So what have you lost? Nothing!”

Always look on the bright side of life, Job!
with nothing

Leave a Reply

