Day 327 (90% of the way through the year)

Rich people may think they are wise, but a poor person with discernment can see right through them. (‭Proverbs‬ ‭28‬:‭11‬ NLT)

Proverbs. Good old proverbs. Have you noticed that when all else fails, Proverbs are always there?

When the verse that has jumped out at me doesn’t fit with how I am feeling that day I know I can chose a verse from Proverbs and off we go.

But something is changing. I am 90% of the way through the Bible. And 90% of the way through the year. The end is in sight.

I need to refocus. I need to pay more attention to the verses that are being underlined (metaphorically) and think about what they saying.

If I don’t do that, then what have I learned this year?

Well quite a lot actually. The Old Testament, which I thought was a tale told by different authors with a beginning (Genesis), Middle and end. But it isn’t! It’s a tale of the Israelites and how they persistently and repeatedly fail to follow God’s laws.

I can’t ignore the parallels with modern day Israel. Are they following God’s laws?

Leave a Reply

