Day 337

I was glad when they said to me, “Let us go to the house of the LORD.” (‭Psalms‬ ‭122‬:‭1‬ NLT)

Being a Churchwarden isn’t a job for people who enjoy glamour and a life of luxury! It’s not even about being a Bishop’s officer and all the pomp and ceremony that this implies.

It’s not all about being up to your elbows in muck and grime either! But that is part of it.

In the documents it will tell you that a Churchwarden should be an upstanding pillar of society. Someone who leads by example when it comes to pray and sobriety.

It’s a bit if all those.

But for me it is also the verse I’ve chosen. For every flaking patch of paint, for every cracked wall, for every weed patch, for every complaint about the service…. There us that undefinable something that only comes from going to church.

Not just any church, but it is true of most. But specifically from “my” church, i.e. the one I attend regularly.

Being a Christian is not just about going to church, ask any Christian! Some people find God on a mountain top, some find him in an open cornfield. Some people even find him in the bathroom! And why not?

But for me, I am glad when I go into the house of the Lord!

Leave a Reply

